Why is a deleted file still stored for another 7 days in the Trash?

First of all it’s an extra layer of data security if someone deletes a file by mistake. (It happens sometimes - we've all been there...). During that time the file can be restored without problems.

Second, this also takes our competitive mixed cost calculation into account. With the 7-days rule you can not use 1 GB more than 4 times within a month.

In any case there are no costs for a file that once has been moved into the trash can and it will be automatically deleted after 7 days.